Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Exposure systems

Exposure systems

I am new to the world of large format photography and have the first of what will most likely be many stupid questions. I shot 35mm and some med. format film back in the 80s, and have been shooting 35mm digital for the last 4 years so I am familiar with the basics of photography. My question is on exposure systems. There seems to be at least 4 systems out there.
    1. Zone system by Ansel Adams
    2. BTZS by Phil Davis
    3. VIDEC system by Andrew Eads.
    4. Use your digital SLR to figure it out and adjust for bellows?

Without starting any kind of a Mac/PC or Canon/Nikon type flame war, what does everyone here use?

I will be shooting B/W landscape type stuff and at least at first having a local photo store developing the negatives. At that point I will most likely have the negatives scanned into the computer and use NIK/Photoshop for finial processing.

Re: Exposure systems

They all come down to the same thing: Expose for the shadows, develop for the highlights. What the various methods do is teach you how to accomplish that. So it's only a matter of picking the system that best fits your own particular way of working -- the one you are most comfortable with.

Me, I use a modified Zone System approach.

Bruce Watson

Get a good exposure meter and do what it tells you to do.

I use a Sekonic L-558, which does incident and 1° spot.

As with any new discipline, choose one set of tools and use them until you understand their strengths and weaknesses.

As Bruce said... Expose for the shadows. You can't print detail that's not on the negative in the first place.

Shoot Fuji Acros (b&w 100ASA). You can't blow the highlights even if you try.

The various "systems" all do the same thing.
    They let you translate one particular tone/color of the subject to one particular gray scale value.
    And that's all they do. They can't change the laws of physics or chemistry.