Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Graflex optar 4.7

Graflex optar 4.7

Hey guys, I'm new to large format photography but I have been doing medium format for some time. I'm testing out a camera I'm thinking about buying but I'm a little iffy on the lens. It says it is a 4.7 on the ring but the scale only goes to 7.5 any insight?

Re: Graflex optar 4.7

The shutter was switched at some point from another lens. The f-stops will not be accurate, so I would pass.

Jon
    my black and white photos of the Mendocino Coast: jonshiu.zenfolio.com

Quote Originally Posted by Jon Shiu View Post
    The shutter was switched at some point from another lens. The f-stops will not be accurate, so I would pass.

Jon
    Thanks Jon, I appreciate it.

If the spacing between the lens cells is correct and if the diaphragm is correctly positioned between the cells, it might work well enough. You can either add a correct scale (they aren't difficult to improvise) or just mentally correct to the right aperture number. However, the Optar doesn't permit extensive front movements on a 4x5 camera, and they are readily available in good condition with the correct scale. Most people would pass it up.

The numbers you've thrown out there suggests that you've got a Tessar lens mated to the right shutter but the wrong scale. Say it's a Wollensak-built Raptar or Optar 135mm f/4.7, one of the most common ones. The shutters (Rapax or Graphex) were made in quantities of the millions as original equipment on Graflex Speed and Crown Graphics and the correct aperture scale should not be difficult to find, at all.