Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: what 4x5 daylight developing tank (or similar) options are available now, March 2013?

what 4x5 daylight developing tank (or similar) options are available now, March 2013?

I've done some searching on this, but much of what I find is already discontinued...

I'm new to 4x5, and tray development doesn't seem like it'll fit my style/setup (darkroom availability isn't guaranteed, takes much time, the %$#@ things stick together and the tray, etc.)

I've developed a lot of 35 and 120 in stainless tanks for 20+ years, though - e6, c41, b/w, even Orwochrom (E-4?)! ... Hand agitation, water bath, the whole cheapskate method - it's always worked well for me!

So I'm fixated on loading the film into a tank, turning on the lights (and water!) and doing it like I always have, but with 4x5! I'd like to be able to do 8-16 sheets in a batch in daylight conditions with no 'equipment' (rotator or whatever) needed.

I've never used the plastic tanks, jobo system or whatever else is similar, so not too familiar with the setup/terminology/parts required. For me, developing takes 1) a reel and 2) a tank! Are there jobo or similar tanks that I could hand agitate? What 'parts' would I need - the many model numbers have been too much for me to figure out!

I've seen reference to the Nikor SS tanks, and wow! they are expensive used! Makes me feel silly for whining about the recent increase in roll film tanks... If I had to I'd break down and get the $200-300 if that's all that's left (they'll be $500 next year!) Nikor but wondering if there are any other options left.

So the question: what types of tanks exist/existed that would still be easy to get new or used? From where?

I see that dunk/dip tanks are available on eb, but they use more chemistry than I'd like (esp. with my precious and impossible to get in Alaska E6!), plus the need for a darkroom...