Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Scanning velvia...is this what to expect or can it be better?

Scanning velvia...is this what to expect or can it be better?

Hi Folks,

I am new to LF photography and to using film. I am currently using Fuji Provia 100f, velvia 50 and portra 160. I am giving myself some time with LF before deciding if it is for me and one thing important to me is to be able to scan and print digitally. I do not have my own scanner (that would be next part of the "investment" if I continue) and so am sending occasional images out to a commercial scanner. They are using an Epson V750....I know it's not the "best" scanner but I have seen some very decent images from this scanner and it would be my intended purchase for "run of the mill" images.

OK, so I recently sent my first Velvia 50 slide to be scanned. The image on the light table looks good to me. Was taken on a blue sky day, so hint of blue/near magenta in the white of the water in the shade. It is ever so slight underexposed (I metered off the brightest water and placed at 1 and 2/3 to retain detail and colour...maybe at +2 in the future?; also not focussed on infinity so maybe a tad bellows extension to add?). Anyway, the original scan came back with a horrible magenta colour cast....the brown/gold of the water totally lost. Attached below.

My efforts to process it have provided an OK image (attached) but still lacks something that is in the slide...can't really put my finger on it.

Is this typical with scanning velvia 50 or just bad practice? I have a colour calibrated monitor, profiled printer and I suppose to complete it with a scanner I would also have to profile for different films? Would that make a difference to colour reproduction?

Thanks

Graham
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Serpentine.jpg   serpentine-orig.jpg  

Re: Scanning velvia...is this what to expect or can it be better?