PDA

View Full Version : Trying to get it RIGHT!

Raffay
11-Feb-2013, 01:44
Hello Everyone,

I have been posting a few images in Feb Portraits 2013, but i felt that the thread is more for people who have mastered the basics of LF, at least. I am a beginner, who is struggling to get it right, basically trying to put in place a process consistent enough to produce good likeable images. Currently, I am not liking my own images :)

Here is a picture I took yesterday, the background wall is off-white, my wife is wearing a beige sweater, so i guess no extreme values...took light reading off her jeans which was dark navy blue, so i adjusted that to zone IV and took the shot...and it came out horrible. I guess, I am learning in a way that my composition has improved, i for once did not cut her arms :) But her eyes are not in focus I am not sure why because the rangefinder showed pretty good focus...the biggest problem there is no detail on the face, sweater or anything. Does the negative look over-exposed?

Cheers
Raffay

amac212
11-Feb-2013, 06:07
But her eyes are not in focus I am not sure why because the rangefinder showed pretty good focus...

Was the film holder already in place while you were focusing? (I ask because sometimes I knock my focus out when sliding it in). Is your rangefinder calibrated for the lens you're using? I'm curious if you would find the same focus result using the ground glass to focus?

I actually don't think it's "horrible". A bit more exposure to get tonal detail in the hair and perhaps moving in a tiny bit would help with focus on the eyes.

Michael W
11-Feb-2013, 06:47
Hi Raffay, I think it's a good idea to start this as a separate thread.
It will probably be really helpful if you give as much detail as possible about how you took each photo, such as
Camera and lens used
Film type and ISO
How you metered - such as what type of light meter. The info about zones and spot metering you are giving is good.