PDA

View Full Version : Wista 45DX vs Ebony RW45

Bob Ring
2-May-2004, 13:29
I want to get back into large format and was wondering if anyone had any comments in comparing the Wista 45DX and the Ebony RW45. Looking for comments in quality of build, handling as in ease of use or any issues, etc. Thanks.

Ben Calwell
2-May-2004, 14:02
Hi Bob,

I have no first hand experience with the Ebony, but I've owned and used a Wista DX for about 15 years. It's a lightweight camera, and I've never had any problems with mine, except for the time when one of the wooden corner pieces came loose and fell out (I glued it back in with Elmer's). Because of its light weight, it's a good choice for backpacking. I wish the knobs were a little beefier, and I wish it had a bit more bellows draw. From all that I've read, the Ebony RW45 would probably be considered a step up from the Wista.

Gem Singer
2-May-2004, 14:21
Hi Bob,

Build quality is excellent on both the Wista and the Ebony. The Wista is slightly lighter weight and less expensive. The cherry wood model, with rear shift, sells for (approx.) $1200. It has a maximum 305mm of bellows extension.

The Ebony RW45 is capable of (approx.) 410mm of bellows extension, using base tilts. It does not have rear shift. In mahogany and titanium, it is solid as a rock, easy to operate, and beautiful to behold. It sells for (approx.) $1500. Other cameras that are in the same entry level class with the Ebony RW45 are the Wisner Traditional-S and the Gandolfi Variant level I.

If you can see your way clear to spending the additional money, by all means buy the Ebony. I think that, in the long run, you will find that having more bellows extension is more useful than having rear shift. Also, if you decide to move up to another camera in the future, the Ebony will hold it's value and be easier to sell.

Gem Singer
2-May-2004, 19:11
P.S.,