PDA

View Full Version : New 16 x 16 LF user

Sirenn
4-Feb-2013, 16:28
Hi everyone,

I'm kinda new to LF photography (although not very new to photography in general) and managed to buy myself a 16x16" LF camera body today! I love practically everything about photography, down to the chemicals and tech stuff, and can't wait to get stuck in with this baby :)

My only problem now is: I can't seem to wrap my head around what lens I would need to get with this one. I have been able to find quite a bit of information on 4x5 and 8x10, but anything above that size - not much. Unless I have been looking in the wrong places....

The camera is a wooden rigid monorail type (officially a repro camera I think) with 2 sets of bellows, divided (supported) by a slim wooden frame in the middle. The maximum size at the rear is 39 x 42 cm (roughly 16 x 16") (I tried attaching a photo, hopefully that will work - please ignore my dad in the first one :p)
I don't know the maker of exact age of this camera.

I would hope to use this for fine art work, portraiture size but would also appreciate some advise on lens size/ type for macro work and landscapes. Thanks for being patient with a newbie! :D

BarryS
4-Feb-2013, 17:19
Congratulations on your new camera--very nice! Landscapes too, you say? Before you start looking for a lens, you need to decide on your film format. Did the camera come with any film holders by chance? Maybe you could post a photo of the other end, so we could see what the back looks like. With a big old process camera like that, you may be in for some work (and expense) to be able to use it. It seems that portraits and still lifes would be your most likely subjects (both macro with a camera that large).

cyrus
4-Feb-2013, 23:04
For landscape work using 16x16 negs you'll need a lens that has 23 inches of coverage when focussed at infinity, at a minimum (no movements, possible falling off)
If you're going to shoot wetplate, it also has to be pretty fast (f/4?)