PDA

View Full Version : New shutter for a Super Angulon 90 F/8

Cpt Buggernuts
4-Feb-2013, 15:44
Hi guys,
I recently received my camera and I have a shutter-related question. As I was informed prior to my purchase, one of the lenses that came with the camera is in need of repair. It is a Schneider Super Angulon 90 f/8, with a compur electronic 1 shutter. The shutter is almost completely taken apart, and I think trying to repair it professionally would be a waste of time and money, as acquiring a new (second hand) one would be much cheaper.
Anyways, my question is: are there any other compatible shutters, and are there any ways for me to find that out without having to ask in the forum every time? Also how hard is it to find a separate shutter mechanism to purchase? I can't seem to be able to find any (here in the uk).
Please excuse my newbie questions, as this is my first 4x5 camera and I am still learning :)

-Rado

Dan Fromm
4-Feb-2013, 16:21
Are you sure it is a #1? I ask because I'm using an ancient 90/8 SA as a paperweight and it is in a #00. Newer ones are usually in #0. If it is in #1, its cells should fit into threaded bushings that fit into the shutter.

No matter, if it is in a #1 then any cock and shoot Compur or Copal #1 should replace the dead one. If in #0, then any cock and shoot Compur or Copal #0. You don't want a press shutter, their diaphragms are closer to the rear than those of cock and shoot shutters and will interfere with the front of the rear cell.