PDA

View Full Version : how to get a LF photography assistant job?

yuexiachou29
31-Jan-2013, 21:32
I am looking for photo apprentice opportunity. Does anybody have idea about how to get started?
Does this common in photography area?

John Kasaian
31-Jan-2013, 22:15
Probably back in the days when LF was used widely in commercial photography the big metropolitan areas would have opportunities, but those days are long gone. If there is a working architecture or portrait photographer in your area you might approach them. Or find an assistant's opening at a unversity with a noteworthy photography program. Outside of that, I haven't a clue.

Daniel Stone
31-Jan-2013, 22:47
I work as an assistant here in LA. NO ONE that I know of is still shooting 4x5, much less 8x10 for commercial work anymore. Not to say there aren't those that occasionally do:

http://austinhargrave.com/blog/tag/danny-devito-8x10-camera

Unfortunate, for sure. I joined the assisting game a few years ago, and to be honest, it has its ups, but it can definitely have its downs. Assisting can be a great way to learn the technical, as long as you're working with people who are willing to teach. I'm not a 20yr veteran like some of the guys and gals(few, but there are some female assistants here I know of) that have made it a career. Some of them shoot LF for their own personal work, but for paid jobs, its pretty much all digital now. The technical requirements, smaller budgets(generally) and 'behind schedule' rushing of a lot of jobs that I work on simply couldn't 'work' with film's schedule.