PDA

View Full Version : Questions about Burke and James 8x10

junbug75
14-Jan-2013, 16:05
Hi!

Just got a new 8x10 Burke and James (been shooting for about two years with a Zone VI 4x5) and had some questions about maintenance of a camera like this. Thanks in advance for any insight!

1. Knobs and rail feel a little sticky and tough to tighten. Any suggestions on lubricating moving parts? I'm more worried about the knobs.

2. Has anybody used this camera/weight combo (about 17lbs with the Gundlach Radar 12"/Betax #5) with the Manfrotto 055CXPRO3 tripod legs? I currently have it on there but not sure how long it will last. I have Bogen 3047 head that I'm hoping to replace with the 3039 head.

3. Anybody have any good experiences with a Gundlach Radar 12" with a Betax #5 shutter? I'm a newbie to these older large format lenses and shutters. Shutter seems to be working fine but thinking about a CLA. Worth it?

Thanks again for any insight and time!

J

Michael Clark
14-Jan-2013, 18:36
About the B&J, they are a little on the crude side and basic, the focusing is a little hard but are built well and can take a lot of punishment. I have the 5x7 model and like it, just have to get past the shaky part. I see yours is black, looks better than the battleship grey I have. I would not advise lubricating anything for fear of gumming up the works.

Mike

goamules
14-Jan-2013, 19:08
Screw threads and gears are all about the same. Maybe the B&J are not "precision cut" or something, but if things are tight, it needs lube somewhere. I would consider some beeswax or lemon pledge along the tracks of the rails, if the focus is tight. tightening knob difficulty could just need a drop of oil on the threads, or check that the shafts are clear to pull through their tracks when you tighten. You should be able to make a B&J work like a Deardorff.

junbug75
14-Jan-2013, 19:22