PDA

View Full Version : Is there an on-line explanation of how CI, SBR and DR relate?

John D Gerndt
18-Apr-2004, 18:05
I am having a hard time laying hands on a book recommended to me to explain the above terms. Is there an on-line article that explains these terms?

Many thanks,

Bill_1856
18-Apr-2004, 18:43
I've been doing serious darkroom work for over 50 years, and I haven't the faintest idea of what CI, SBR, or DR mean.

Francis Abad
18-Apr-2004, 19:00
The book to purchase is Beyond the Zone System by Phil Davis (4th ed.). It will go through the whole process of the meaning and uses of CI (contrast index), SBR (subject brightness range) and DR (density range).

SBR is the range of the low and high exposure values measured in a scene plus 5.

DR relates to the density range of the paper, expressed in log units (how black does it get to and how white does it become, something like that in layman's terms).

CI relates to negative contrast as matched to certain types of printing process/paper. For example, to get a proper negative to sufficiently make use of the tonal scale of AZO contact printing paper one needs to develop the negative to achieve a CI of 0.71 or thereabouts.

These are all just terms to identify the characteristics of the materials we use in order that we can forget about fumbling in the darkroom - i.e. the ability to predictably succeed in making negatives that are easy to print in the paper or process we decide to use.

Jay DeFehr
18-Apr-2004, 19:58
Am I correct in understanding that all of the terms describe the range in brightness or density? SBR for the subject, CI for negatives, and DR for paper?

sanking
18-Apr-2004, 20:07
Not exactly.

SBR (subject brighness range) is for the subject, CI (Contrast Index = modified form of gamma) applies to the negative, as does DR (density range). The corresponding value for papers is ES (exposure scale). As Francis mentions, a good source for reading about this is Davis' Beyond the Zone System.