PDA

View Full Version : Sinar P question from a complete novice (help needed)

Crowfriend
28-Dec-2012, 15:37
Greetings, I just took delivery on a Sinar P. I have no experience with any large format camera. Can you please tell me what I should check to ensure it is operational?

It has 5x7 and 3x5 accessories. It has, I think, a copal shutter. I mounted the lens to the standard and cannot move the shutter off "B".

Then there is what I think is the aperture dial. It will not dial down to the lower 1/3 of the dial.

Where can I locate a manual?

Any help is greatly needed and appreciated.

Ed Bray
28-Dec-2012, 15:42
Shutter Manual Here (http://www.butkus.org/chinon/sinar/sinar.htm)

Crowfriend
28-Dec-2012, 15:48
Thanks for the link.

Ken Lee
28-Dec-2012, 16:47
Greetings, I just took delivery on a Sinar P. I have no experience with any large format camera. Can you please tell me what I should check to ensure it is operational?

It has 5x7 and 3x5 accessories. It has, I think, a copal shutter. I mounted the lens to the standard and cannot move the shutter off "B".

Then there is what I think is the aperture dial. It will not dial down to the lower 1/3 of the dial.

Where can I locate a manual?

Any help is greatly needed and appreciated.

Have you tried adjusting the shutter with the lens board removed ? Do you have the cable release ? If the shutter is partially open it will not allow adjustment.

When set to open, the aperture is designed to stay wide open. If you squeeze the cable release partially, it will close down, serving as a depth of field preview like we see on SLR cameras.

Perhaps a forum member who knows about Sinar cameras and shutters lives nearby.

Jay DeFehr
28-Dec-2012, 17:45
Are you sure the shutter's aperture linkage is connected to the lensboard properly? It might be in an improper position that won't allow it to move over its full range.