PDA

View Full Version : Monogram. Portrait, f-5 Southern Photo Material Co

marty1107
24-Dec-2012, 13:36
Hello

Let me start by saying I'm totally new to large format.

I'm looking for information on this lens, focal length, and do the numbers on the diaphragm adjustment correspond to actual f stops. The lens is mounted on a Century Studio Kodak 10A box. Focusing the camera at infinity, I measured from the diaphragm ring to the focus glass and it measured 15" or approximately 380mm. I also measured the diameter of the front glass and it is approx. 3.75". So if the aperture is the focal length/lens diameter, then the wide open aperture would be f4. However the numbers on the diaphragm run from 1.5 to 64. So how do they then relate to an actual aperture? I've taken three shots and they're all underexposed by at least a stop or 2.

Thank you

Martin

86007 86008 86009

Mark Sawyer
24-Dec-2012, 16:35
Note that the aperture markings skip every other stop in the f/stop sustem. That gives it away that this lens is marked in the old "Uniform System" of stops:

US/16 = f/16
US/8 = f/11
US/4 = f/8
US/2 = f/5.6
US/1= f/4

The pattern is that 16 is the same in both systems, but the US System halves or doubles with a single stop change, while the f/stop halves or doubles every other stop. The f/stop won out because it makes more sense when actually doing the math.

So yours is an f/5 or US/1.5, and a nice Petzval, I'd guess from about 1910-1915, and probably a re-branded Wollensak.

BTW, it's not the diameter of the front glass you measure as the aperture, it's the size of the minimum opening of the lens barrel as measured through the front glass, which has a slight magnifying effect.

goamules
24-Dec-2012, 16:47