PDA

View Full Version : Foggy Images

Raffay
21-Dec-2012, 11:40
Hello,

I am new to LF and have been trying it our for some time now. I understand that getting a decent print out is not as easy as todays digital camera, but I am faced with this unusual results where the images come out quite foggy in the end. Where I live film is almost dead, so I have to get my stock from UK or the US. I am using Ilford FP 4 plus 125 and HP5 Plus 400. Initially, I used Ilford chemicals but when they went out of stock I started using chemicals from a local store. Now I am using D-23. I recently took two pictures, one of my brothers dog, and one of myself. At the moment I don't have a scanner or an enlarger so at the moment I have this crazy processing flow (which I would skip to keep the message short). Out of the the 30 or so pictures I took only this dog picture has some out not foggy, but my self portrait is again foggy. I have no clue what I am doing wrong, and would appreciate any help. There was a little variation in the development process, I try to describe the below:

Developed in FR Tank Single negative

1. Dog picture (which I think has better tones)
a. Soaked in water for 1 minute
b. Developed in D-23 at 22 deg C for 9 minutes, agitation every minute
c. Stop bath with white vinegar just washed it ones
d. Fixed with plain hypo for 5 minutes normal agitation every minute
e. Washed with plain water

2. Self portrait (foggy as usual)
a. Soaked in water for 1 minute
b. Developed in D-23 at 22 deg C for 9 minutes, constant agitation for the first minute then every minute
c. No stop bath, only washed with water
d. Fixed with plain hypo normal agitation every minute but this time for 9 minutes
e. Washed with plain water

Any support would be appreciated...

Cheers
Raffay

Here are both the pics for your ref:

Fotos this German Shepard

My Self-portrait :

Brian C. Miller
21-Dec-2012, 12:03
Welcome to the forum, Rafay!

D-23 isn't the problem.