PDA

View Full Version : Large Format Scanner for B&W Alt. Photography

Cody Thomas
13-Apr-2004, 01:01
Hi to all,

This is my first time posting to this group and I certainly hope my inquiries are not inapropriate, but I will try to make it short - I would really like some expert advice. I am a LF photographer and a Platinum/Palladium printer. As I enjoy the alternative processes I am very computer literate and at this point trying to find the best information on 4X5 film scanning. I use to use a service bureau but would like to purchase a "film scanner". The Imacon scanners are too pricey and I would like anyone's input on what might be the best scanner for B&W negatives? All of the reasonably priced film scanners are only for 35mm and medium format. Please give recommendations as to flatbed scanner possibilities, dedicated film scanners, and anything new on the horizon. If this post is inapropriate please direct me to the most knowledgable source. I need expert advice as I enlarge my negatives for contact platinum prints. Thank you for you time,

Cody Thomas

Carl Weese
13-Apr-2004, 05:52
The new Epson 4870 flatbed does a very good job with negatives up to 5x7 inches. Quality surpasses that of slide scanners from just a couple years ago and the price is a real bargain at about $450. Optical resolution is 4800 and the dynamic range has no trouble at all encompassing very long-scale negatives intended for Pt/Pd printing. Pyro-stained negatives scan well too. The supplied film carriers include one for a pair of 4x5 negs/chromes and it works very well. The medium format carrier is also nice, but I don't find the 35mm one designed well. 5x7 negatives need to go right on the glass, or perhaps a home-made carrier will do better--I'm still working on that one.---Carl

Marco Frigerio
13-Apr-2004, 06:47
I second the Epson 4870 suggestion...here you can find an interesting review:

http://www.photo-i.co.uk/

Ciao

Marco

sanking
13-Apr-2004, 07:20