PDA

View Full Version : Toyo 45A vs. Chamonix 045n-2

claus
9-Dec-2012, 08:21
This is my first post here so... hello there!
I'm a brazilian photographer but I'm living in Paris nowadays. Now, let's talk about what matters.

My style is documentary photography and while studying the work of such photographers as Rob Hornstra, Alec Soth, Joel Sternfeld and Richard Misrach, I'm thinking in moving from MF to 4x5 format. After doing some research, I have the opportunity to get one of these two cameras:

1) Used Toyo 45A + Schneider Symmar-s 150 (multi coated) + Holders and a loupe. I would pay 890 USD for it.

2) New Chamonix 045n-2, body only. 980 USD

I'm wondering if it better to invest in the used metal camera kit or buy a new wood camera and get the lens later. And I'd love to hear some thoughts about these two cameras for this photography style.

Thank you in advance!

Dvenosa
9-Dec-2012, 08:48
My Toyo 45A is a joy to use...

BTW sou brasileiro tb

sully75
9-Dec-2012, 09:14
I'd go Chamonix. Very happy with mine. I'm sure you'll be good with either one.

A monorail like a Toyo is going to be much cheaper and in a lot of ways easier to use. But it's a bear to carry around.

David Lobato
9-Dec-2012, 09:45
I've had my Toyo 45A since 1988. It's a folding field camera, not a monorail like the 45E I once had. I have always loved using the 45A. It's easy to use intuitively under the dark cloth and very fast to setup, which may help in your work. One reason I will always keep it is because I get very sharp transparencies and b&w negatives (all that metal has advantages for stiffness). And it's rugged in frequent handling and transport. Plus it's part of the large Toyo system so accessories and spare parts are widely available.