PDA

View Full Version : Advice for a long lens

Bill, 70's military B&W
9-Dec-2012, 07:23
I have a beautiful Fuji 300, that I use on 4x5 and 8x10. I'm new at LF but in 35mm I always was drawn to long lenses.
Does anyone have any recommendations on a longer lens? It does not have to cover the 8x10, I plan on mostly using the 4x5.
Thanks,
Bill

MDR
9-Dec-2012, 08:23
Bill are we talking longer focal length or tele lens ? The schneider Kreuznach APO Tekle-Xenar 5.6/400 is not bad and covers 5x7. My personal favourite in the longer lens line up is the Fujinon C 12.5/450mm drawback of this lens is the lack of speed advantage of this lens lack of weight

Erik Larsen
9-Dec-2012, 09:13
If you have the bellows draw, the 19" red dot Artar or ronars of similar focal length are nice and are found in shutters not too pricey either.
Regards
Erik

Nathan Potter
9-Dec-2012, 09:15
I use a Nikon tele convertible, the ED 360, 500, 720. Covers 4X5 but not sure about 5X7. May not have quite the sharpness of the Fujinon 300 but makes up for it in very high contrast which is important in tele work.

Nate Potter, Austin TX.

John O'Connell
9-Dec-2012, 09:46
Your profile lists a Shen Hao and a Sinar in 4x5. The Sinar gives you options: an extra bellows and a multifunction standard gets you a ton of extension. Since you can effectively go as long as you want with the Sinar with normal lenses, you should consider a Ronar or an Artar of 19" or 480mm. If you have the Sinar shutter all sorts of barrel lenses are options, too.

Personally, though, I greatly prefer telephotos in LF for the bellows advantage. I find them easier to work with, exit pupil factor and funny tilts notwithstanding.

As to length, I don't think I'd get a 400 if I already had a 300; I'd go for something longer.

Bill, 70's military B&W
9-Dec-2012, 20:36