PDA

View Full Version : Using Nikkor Macro lens in general purpose photography

Boulos Isaac
5-Apr-2004, 11:36
Hello... I am planing to buy the (Apo-Macro-Nikkor ED 120mm f/5.6), to use as a general purpose moderate wide angle, as well as a macro lens on my Sinar F2 4x5". Can anybody kindly tell me if this is a good idea. Will it give enough sharpness or it work good only on high magification starting from 1:5 image/subject and more. I am new in large format I have the (Sinar 150:5.6 Sinaron S) and the (Schneider 210:6.1 Xenar). Is any of these enough for macro photography to shoot 2:1

Thanks

Dan Fromm
5-Apr-2004, 15:51
I have no experience with the 120/5.6 Macro Nikkor but Nikon does not recommend it for use at infinity on 4x5. It isn't wide angle, is supposed to cover 2x3 but not 4x5 at infinity.

Michael Kadillak
5-Apr-2004, 19:10
Since I own the lens you mentioned in your post, I went ahead and set up my 5x7 Canham with the 4x5 back and at infinity it will not even come close to covering 5x7 and 4x5 is a no go as well. Great macro lens - not at infinity. If you want a fabulous 4x5 lens in about that focal length on 4x5, I would have no problem recommended the small compact Nikkor 135 or 150mm W. Sharp and contrasty and coverage to spare. Leave the 120mm ED alone for right now if you want to shoot at infinity.

CHEERS!

Michael S. Briggs
6-Apr-2004, 00:57
Nikon rates the 120 mm AM-ED Nikkor as covering 55 degrees at 1:1. This means a circle of coverage of 250 mm. Approximating that the lens covers 55 degrees when focused on distant objects, the diameter of the circle of coverage would be 125 mm -- not enough for 4x5, as the others have said.

Bjørn Rørslett talks about this lens on his webpage: http://www.naturfotograf.com/lens_LF.html. He makes use of it for distant subjects, but only on the 6x9 cm format.