PDA

View Full Version : Goerz Dagor information needed please

threebythree
5-Dec-2012, 03:13
Hi all,

I am completely new to LF photography but have recently acquired a Goerz Dagor Series III f6.8 6.5" lens set in an Ica Dresden Compur Shutter. Serial number on both elements is 313368, which I think dates it to around 1914?

My questions are:

1. What camera can this be used on (sorry for the potentially very broad answers this may bring)

2. How do I clean it (there are no scratches, and very few spots)

3. If it turns out to be a good copy, what is it's value?

Many thanks for your help

IanG
5-Dec-2012, 05:54
It'll fit many cameras, any 5"x4", 9x12cm, Quarter plate, even a 7"x5" or half plate stopped down to f16, so it's very versatile.

I use optical cleaning fluid with care on lenses like this. My own 12" Dagor came with what was described as separation but in fact was just many years accumulated dirt around the edges of the elements and a good clean worked winders.

As to price it's best to check completed sales on Ebay, they are very variable. Location makes a difference as well.

Ian

Steven Tribe
5-Dec-2012, 06:35
Dagors were a enormous success and sold over 100,000 examples!
Most are given with the mm/cm focal length - so look for prices of 150mm series III or Dagor proper.
The front and rear cells should screw out quite easily - there are no internal air spaces.

CCHarrison
5-Dec-2012, 07:35
If you go to my page on Goerz lenses, you will see a catalogue page and information for this lens:

http://antiquecameras.net/1904goerzlensads.html

Dan

E. von Hoegh
5-Dec-2012, 07:38
Dagors were a enormous success and sold over 100,000 examples!
Most are given with the mm/cm focal length - so look for prices of 150mm series III or Dagor proper.
The front and rear cells should screw out quite easily - there are no internal air spaces.