PDA

View Full Version : Which Arca Swiss

NoBob
3-Dec-2012, 08:55
For a complete beginner buying an Arca Swiss for architectural photography (film, 120 or 4x5), is an older model going to do the job, or is it worth paying the extra for an F-Line or Discovery?

And can the older models be upgraded?

NoBob
3-Dec-2012, 10:56
Found these useful pages. Will read 'em.

http://www.largeformatphotography.info/arca-swiss.html

http://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/showthread.php?11755-Acra-Swiss-model-C

http://photo.net/bboard/q-and-a-fetch-msg?msg_id=000x4A

http://hv.greenspun.com/bboard/q-and-a-fetch-msg.tcl?msg_id=003aWR

http://hv.greenspun.com/bboard/q-and-a-fetch-msg.tcl?msg_id=0001Wc

neil poulsen
3-Dec-2012, 23:05
I have a 171mm 4x5 Classic F and an old-style Arca 6x9.

The thing to remember about the older-style Arcas is that they have a foam seal in the front and back. So, you would need to monitor these light seals for deterioration, change them when needed, etc.

Also, I believe that my 6x9 Arca can't bring the lens and ground glass as close together as a modern 6x9 Arca. If this is the case in the 4x5 old-style, then this could affect architectural photography. (Given architectural photography's reliance on super-wides.) At the same time, while hard to find, recessed lensboards as deep as 2 inches were made for the old-style 4x5 Arcas.

Other than these details, the controls, rise, shift, etc., seem to work just fine on my older Arca.

NoBob
4-Dec-2012, 11:08
Thanks Neil.

john borrelli
9-Dec-2012, 08:55
A new version of an arca swiss discovery is not common but can be found second hand for a good price. Here are some thoughts.