PDA

View Full Version : Swapping out Copal shutters

RussHerm
30-Nov-2012, 14:24
Hi gang

I'm still a noob to LF (having only shot a few dozen sheets or so), and I'm not so accomplished at QUALITY DIY (thank goodness for duct-tape!)

I just ordered a pair of old lenses... Both Copal 3 shutter size, but only one lens has a good shutter...

Seeing as how Copal 3 shutters are much more $$ than I thought, i will need to wait on buying another shutter.

I plan on shooting each lens with the same shutter for the time being (I realize the f-stop will not be accurate for the other lens, but that is an easy calculation)

My question: are there any specific tools I should order while I wait for shipping so I can hit the ground running when the lenses arrive?

Also, are there any resources where I can study up on how to swap the shutter?

Thanks!
Russ

BrianShaw
30-Nov-2012, 14:31
Put away the duct tape, vice-grips, and WD-40 please.

The cells should screw out of one shutter and screw into the other. No tools should be required. You can move the aperture plate easily with a very small screwdriver.

Are you sure that the shutter is broken enough to need replacement, or might a good servicing bring it back to life?

RussHerm
30-Nov-2012, 15:24
That's great news Brian, thanks!

The other lens actually is a barrel lens that I intend to cover the front of it with the shutter... Sounds aweful, I know... But I read it in an article for this lens/shutter combo - and I couldn't b more excited

JBAphoto
1-Dec-2012, 16:14
Aaaargh! - Just use the shuttered on at the moment, or use the barrel one for dark situations. Don't mess around as damage repair is more expensive than waiting here or on APUG for the length and shutter you want at a sensible price

The ideal shutter for barrel mounted lenses is a Sinar Shutter, but that is another whole level away

Bogdan Karasek
23-Dec-2012, 13:16
Hi gang

snip