PDA

View Full Version : Lens recommendations

macandal
29-Nov-2012, 09:49
I'm trying to put together a nice lens "library" for my Sinar F2. Currently, I only shoot 4x5, however, in the future (the distant future), I plan on shooting 8x10. I currently have a Schneider Symmar-S 180mm F/5.6 lens. I want to buy a 90mm and a 30mm lens. I want to get into portraiture, but there are other things I want to do. The three lenses I plan on having, I hope, will give me nice coverage to do a variety of things to try out and see what I really like (yes, I'm a beginner; I've only been doing this, in earnest, a couple of years). What do you guys recommend I get?

C. D. Keth
29-Nov-2012, 10:06
Are you interested in shooting architecture? That is important because architecture more or less requires large lenses with large coverage. If you don't have much interest there, the selections can be significantly cheaper while still being high quality.

rdenney
29-Nov-2012, 13:02
I'm trying to put together a nice lens "library" for my Sinar F2. Currently, I only shoot 4x5, however, in the future (the distant future), I plan on shooting 8x10. I currently have a Schneider Symmar-S 180mm F/5.6 lens. I want to buy a 90mm and a 30mm lens. I want to get into portraiture, but there are other things I want to do. The three lenses I plan on having, I hope, will give me nice coverage to do a variety of things to try out and see what I really like (yes, I'm a beginner; I've only been doing this, in earnest, a couple of years). What do you guys recommend I get?

In photography you've done in the past, what sorts of pictures did you make, what lenses did you use, and what was your usual format?

You could just buy one of everything, but that's not an efficient path to meeting your objectives.

Rick "hoping '30mm' is a typo" Denney

macandal
29-Nov-2012, 13:11
Are you interested in shooting architecture?Yes, I am, Christopher.

macandal
29-Nov-2012, 13:13