PDA

View Full Version : Brett Weston exhibit - Albright University Freedman Gallery, Reading, PA

chassis
27-Nov-2012, 17:26
I stumbled into this exhibit in the midst of being set up. The official opening is on Thursday 11/29, and runs through January 13.

The emphasis is on Weston's abstracts from the 70s and 80s. Images of paint/metal, ice, water, wood, etc. These were the first Brett Weston prints I have seen; they have a style I am not experienced with.

It's a great (free) opportunity to see some fine black and white prints in a casual gallery setting.

http://www.albright.edu/freedman/

Mark Woods
27-Nov-2012, 17:44
A few years ago the Santa Barbara Museum of Art had an exhibition of Edward Weston's work and Brett Weston's work. It was a really good exhibition where I could really look at the differences of the men's work. I no longer confuse them.

ImSoNegative
27-Nov-2012, 22:24
i have only saw the prints online or in books, seeing them in person, im sure they are truly amazing.

Darin Boville
27-Nov-2012, 22:31
A few years ago the Santa Barbara Museum of Art had an exhibition of Edward Weston's work and Brett Weston's work. It was a really good exhibition where I could really look at the differences of the men's work. I no longer confuse them.

I saw that show. It was excellent. Not a huge fan of Brett's work but that show raised it a few notches in my eyes...they had a (hard to get) catalog, too.

--Darin

John Fink Jr.
28-Nov-2012, 08:02
Thanks for the heads up.

hmf
1-Dec-2012, 05:59
There is nothing on the Freedman Gallery website about the exhibition. Can you give me an idea as to how many prints are hung? I'd consider making the trip from suburban Washington, DC, but not to see just a few images.

Gerry Meekins
4-Dec-2012, 09:00
I requested some information about the show since there is not much mentioned on their website.
Here’s what Nancy Sarangoulis from the Freedman Gallery sent me.