PDA

View Full Version : Portrait lens on a Speed Graphic 4x5?

ryanmills
19-Nov-2012, 17:04
I'm very much a newbie so forgive me if this is a stupid question but I cant seem to find the relevant info. I'm looking at a Speed Graphic for a first 4x5 camera since they seem easy to find, transport and are cheap. However im wondering if there are any issues with mounting a longer lens like a 210mm Schneider Symmar-S. I asume it wont fold in but i'm not sure if the bellows would be long enough or if there would be issues focusing. A secondary question, would the movements be limited on a longer lens. I'm a portrait photographer looking for a cheap first LF camera to experiment with.

Robert Budding
19-Nov-2012, 17:44
Speed Graphics have plenty of bellows draw for a 210mm lens. As for a cheap portrait lens - the 203mm Ektar is excellent, and you can fold the camera closed with it attached.

Richard Rankin
19-Nov-2012, 18:13
If you get one like the one I've got listed, you can use the focal plane shutter and just pick up barrel lenses. Depending on what you want, you can get some of those pretty cheaply and it opens up the option of using a lot of cool old brass lenses. When I shot 4x5, I used a 210 Caltar II lens in a Copal shutter that I thought was terrific.

Cheers and welcome to LFPF,
Richard

Bill_1856
19-Nov-2012, 18:15
I second the 203 Ektar. It sounds like a lot shorter focal length lens, but actually is only 1/4". Wide open it's about one stop slower than the Symmar-S, but it's every bit as sharp. It has so few air/glass surfaces that it doesn't matter that it's only single-coated. Kodak hit the jackpot when they made this one.
And the price is right!

jnantz
19-Nov-2012, 19:15
you might also consider a 10" tele optar
works wonders ..

Bill_1856
19-Nov-2012, 20:13
10" Tele Optar is a terrific lens, especially for the bucks, but won't fold inside the camera.

jp
19-Nov-2012, 20:20