PDA

View Full Version : Film speed testing

macandal
19-Nov-2012, 12:26
Okay, I'm trying to do a film speed testing, but the two sources I have, do it in increments/decreases of 1/2 or 1/3 stops. Now, I'm a newbie. 1/2 and 1/3 stops may not be complicated to you more experienced fellows, but they are to me, a beginner soul. Can someone please give me the easy version of the film speed test? In whole stops? None of this half or third business? These are my requirements:

I'm testing my large format Sinar F2 (obviously sheet film)
I have access to a densitometer
I have a gray card (I know there are ways of doing this test without one, but I want to do it with a card)

I think that's it. I can't think of anything else. Can someone give me the easy version of the film speed test? Thanks.

SpeedGraphicMan
19-Nov-2012, 12:28
Give this a read through...

http://www.earthscenics.com/manuals/zoneman_8_11_05.pdf

ic-racer
19-Nov-2012, 13:08
Guess at an exposure index, set that on the meter, expose the card putting it at zone 1, process the film and check that it is 0.1 log d. Repeat as needed to find the proper exposure index.

polyglot
19-Nov-2012, 21:08
I would recommend acquiring a copy of Beyond The Zone System by Davis. It lays it all out fairly neatly, though you will need to buy a (not very expensive) step wedge.

Bill Burk
19-Nov-2012, 22:53
Get a ride to Pacifica and bring about 10 sheets of film...

I need a guinea pig to practice the material for my class... "Calling your shots, the timeless appeal of popular sensitometry". So you'll be helping me and in the end you'll either be totally confused, or you'll know every way to test film...

Bill, 70's military B&W
20-Nov-2012, 18:50
Re: Film speed testing

I'm just getting started in LF myself, and am about ready to start doing some testing on my own, hopefully this weekend. I have several lenses and cameras.