PDA

View Full Version : Metalworking for LPL lens boards

Tom Westbrook
24-Mar-2004, 08:01
Having been unable to locate a 55mm LPL 4x5 enlarger lens board to fit my APO-Componon lens, I need to have a 53mm board drilled out & re-threaded so the lens will fit. I'm usually fairly handy with tools and wondered if anyone with knowledge of metalworking could give me an opinion whether I could buy the tools to do this myself or whether I should just bite the bullet and pay a local machine shop to do it for me (at $75/hour). I have no experience with metalworking, so am not sure what tools would be required. I was thinking that maybe there is a way to just progressively re-tap the threads to gradually widen the mount hole with a hand tool of some sort?

For those unfamiliar with the LPL lens boards, here's a picture of a 39mm board. The 55mm is the same, but has a bigger hole.
http://calumetphoto.com/resources/images/products/8033-1.jpg

There is enough metal to expand the hole to 55mm, in case someone is wondering. And, the guy I spoke to at Omega/Satter said this modification was my only option for a 55mm board, since LPL in Japan had discontinued that size.

Bill Jefferson
24-Mar-2004, 08:14
Tom, Ask S.K. Grimes what they have to offer, for an option

Bob._3483
24-Mar-2004, 08:23
Three cheaper options spring to mind: file the hole larger and find a retaining ring to fit the lens thread or... file it larger and *glue* the lens in there or... find something with a 55mm thread (perhaps a more available lens holder?) and epoxy or screw that to the filed out LPL lens holder.

Cheers,

Bob Salomon
24-Mar-2004, 09:44
A chasis punch should do it. Greenlee makes them. Or you might see if you can find a machinist who would mill the opening for you. Or an auto body shop might be able to do it or a sheet metal shop.

Whatever you do you don't want to drill the hole. That creates stresses in the board and that can effect the proper alignment of the enlarger.