PDA

View Full Version : dilemma on lenses

Lundsgaard
1-Nov-2012, 07:05
Hi everybody,
i am new to this forum as well as to large format.
In my younger days, i did quite a lot of bw photo and worked in the darkroom. and as it often happens, i took up my old interst and has very quickly upgraded into large format.
I do not know how it happens, but i seem to run into a lot of inexpensive LF equipment, i want it all, but i think it is best for me to keep it simple, at the beginning at least.

i am in a bit of a dilemma, somewhat luxorious i admit, i have these lenses:

rodenstock apo ronar f 5,6 by 360 mm on compur shutter
schneider kreutznach f 5,6 by 135 mm on compur
schneider kreutznach super angulon f8 by 90 mm on compur

and have the opportunity to aquire following at realative low cost:

rodenstock sironar N f5,6 by 210 mm on copal shutter
rodenstock sironar N f5,6 by 150 mm on copal
rodenstock grandagon N f 4,5 by 90 mm. on copal

i have a sinar norma 4x5.
as i am very new to LF, i am not shure what my line of pichtures will be in the end.
Therefore i am looking for a set of 3-4 lenses to cover LF in general.

Do you have any suggestions ??
klaus
denmark

Steven Tribe
1-Nov-2012, 07:41
Velkommen Klaus!

Prices in Denmark are very low as there are very few buyers and ex-studio lenses sets like these have been at a realistically low prices for a long time. Perhaps we are getting to end of clearouts now, though?

It is worth checking the shutters as non-use in the last decade could have created some problems.
Check e**y "sold prices" and buy all 6 if you have some space between prices there and the prices you have to pay locally.
The sinar is a good starting point if you go in the direction of classic, historical lenses - where the option of a sinar/copal shutter creates freedom.

Tim Meisburger
1-Nov-2012, 08:12