PDA

View Full Version : Larger than an 8x10

Pfiltz
31-Oct-2012, 04:24
OK, so I'm new to LF photography, and decided to get a darkroom setup since I have the space, and am addicted to this stuff.

I bought a 8x10 contact printer, and hope to have it soon. I've been using a piece of picture frame glass to create contact prints from my 4x5 negs, and have been experimenting with exposures and development times.

I bought an Omega D-2 enlarger last week, and I have a fellow that is giving me some darkroom equipment that he no longer uses, such as easel, trays, timers, paper safe, safe light,etc.. Right now we're working on getting the room inside the studio light tight.

Question is if I want to print lets say print an 11x14 do I have to find a 11x14 easel? On another note, can my Omega enlarge to anything larger than 11x14 if I dare to go larger?

Thanks for any info you can share.

vinny
31-Oct-2012, 06:03
having something to hold the paper flat is nice if you want the image to be sharp from edge to edge. Get a 16x20 easel or make one yourself. The omega d-2 will make larger prints if you have the appropriate lens for the format you are printing.

Pfiltz
31-Oct-2012, 06:11
Thanks Vinny. I may see if I can make something first.

BTW, couldn't I use a piece of glass as well?

vinny
31-Oct-2012, 06:31
Thanks Vinny. I may see if I can make something first.

BTW, couldn't I use a piece of glass as well?

how are you going to position it in the same place every time?
I wouldn't. there could also be issues since you're projecting the image through the glass onto the paper, unlike a contact print.

Pfiltz
31-Oct-2012, 06:32
Alrighty... I see what your talking about.

John Kasaian
31-Oct-2012, 06:42
A piece of flat steel would be better. Hold down the paper with magnets.
Or,
keep an eye open for a four bladed easel---pricey when new but I got mine dirt cheap when a local lab when digi.
For smaller size papers I really like those old wood Leitz easels.

Vaughn