PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with questions

Bill, 70's military B&W
27-Oct-2012, 18:29
I'm a Newbie and have been collecting gear and setting up a darkroom. Sent several lenses to Carol Flutot for CLA and they came back today. They look and sound great. I bought a Fuji W 300 on a Copal #3 and had the seller drop it off at Carols for a CLA. I had never seen a 300 or a Copal 3.

I can not believe how big/huge the Fuji W 300 on a Copal #3 is. Heavy too! Great coverage on an 8x10 I'm sure but man what a beautiful beast.

I got everything mounted on Linhof Tech boards and tomorrow I'll be playing around with them. I mounted and did get a chance to look thru that Voigtlander Collinear Series II No.6 12 1/4" on the Sinar for a couple of minutes. Looked similar to the Fuji 300. I only had a couple of minutes... I'll get a better look tomorrow, also I'll be playing with the 8x10 too. I'll bet looking on the lens board will not be significantly different but it will show in the print. It'll take me a while but I really want to compare those 2 lenses, the new and the old.

Here is my question:

I've got some duplicates, I've acquired (4) 135mm lenses. That is because I picked up a Speed Graphic and a Crown Graphic both with 135mm. Then 2 more came with camera purchases. I know the proper answer is shoot all 4 and keep the best one...
But if you were to guess which would be the best, by reputation/brand name/etc of these 4:

Nikkor W 135mm f/5.6 on Copal 0
Schneider Kreuznach Xenar 135mm f/4.7 Synchro-Compur 0
Graflex Optar 135mm f/4.7 on Graflex shutter
Rodenstock Sironar N MC 135mm f/5.6

Same question between:
Fuji W 150mm f/5.6 on Copal 0
Rodenstock Geronar MC 150mm f/6.3 on Copal 0

Bill

vinny
27-Oct-2012, 19:11
Nikkor and the fuji.

Teodor Oprean
27-Oct-2012, 19:42
I would keep all the lenses and take pictures with them all. Over time, you will form a subjective preference of which lens to use for which types of subjects.