PDA

View Full Version : Newbie mounting lenses for the first time.

Bill, 70's military B&W
27-Oct-2012, 11:36
I just got my lenses back from Carol Flutot and they look great. Each one has a timing sheet. Lower speeds seem great, highest speeds are a little off on some. But at least I know that now.
I want to mount all the lenses on Linhof Tech boards. I assume they just unscrew and screw back together with the lens board sandwiched in-between.
Is there anything more to it? Make sure you do this or make sure you never do that...
Any words of advice before I screw it up?

I have a Voigtlander Collinear Series II, No.6, f/6.3, 12 1/4", on an old ACME ILLEX shutter that is a tad larger than a Copal #3 predrilled hole. I tllk a 1/2 round file and evenly enlarged the hole a couple of mm's so that now it fits. I'll have to drill 4 holes and put in machine screws. It does not look that hard, but then I've never done it before. I assume I'll have to screw the lens together tightly and then mark where the holes will need to be drilled. Then assemble.
Do I need any kind of lock-tight? any kind of gasket? anything for light tight mounting?

Thanks, Bill

Atul Mohidekar
27-Oct-2012, 13:55
You might find these resources useful:

1. How to Mount a View Camera Lens (video) - View Camera Store
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2JjzwjO5ZSE

2. Lens Mounting to Lensboard - SK Grimes
http://www.skgrimes.com/lens-mounting/to-lensboard

// Atul

Frank Petronio
27-Oct-2012, 14:29
It's just common sense, simple mechanics... obviously you don't want any light to leak and it needs to be square to the board.