PDA

View Full Version : Densitometer Recommendations

Robert Budding
24-Oct-2012, 16:53
I used to borrow a friend's Heiland densitometer, but unfortunately it has disappeared. So now I'm looking for a densitometer to test B&W film. I just need straight transmission readings - nothing as fancy as BTZS. What do people here recommend?

lenser
24-Oct-2012, 17:03
I have a Speedmaster T-85D that is for sale. I can't tell you much about it since I got it as part of a huge darkroom deal earlier this year and don't know how to use it. I wanted all the other stuf and this came as part of the set up.

It is in near mint condition and everything that I can work with turns on and operates including the foot switch.

Peter De Smidt
24-Oct-2012, 18:58
I use an X-rite color densitometer. The R, G, B channels can be useful for stained negatives.

Robert Budding
24-Oct-2012, 19:15
I have a Speedmaster T-85D that is for sale. I can't tell you much about it since I got it as part of a huge darkroom deal earlier this year and don't know how to use it. I wanted all the other stuf and this came as part of the set up.

It is in near mint condition and everything that I can work with turns on and operates including the foot switch.

I'd only be interested if I could find a manual for it.

lenser
24-Oct-2012, 19:40
I don't currently have one, but I'll see if I can find one on line or from Calumet.

Robert Budding
29-Oct-2012, 04:18
I've decided to buy an RH designs Analyzer Pro instead of a dedicated densitometer.

EOTS
29-Oct-2012, 05:25
I use an X-rite color densitometer. The R, G, B channels can be useful for stained negatives.

Hi Peter!
Also looking for an X-rite to be usable for stained stuff ...

Which color meter model do you use successfully for this task?

There seem to be multiple models:
http://www.xrite.com/product_overview.aspx?ID=157
http://www.xrite.com/custom_page.aspx?PageID=137

Thanks,
Martin

EOTS
29-Oct-2012, 06:43
Uh-oh damn it!