PDA

View Full Version : Omegaview 45E question...did I get ripped?

Pitcherman
24-Oct-2012, 07:28
Good morning gentlemen-
I probably don't need to tell you that I am new to the LF forum, but I am. The other day I fell in love with and bought an Omegaview 45E with a Rodenstock 210mm Sironar-N and a 135mm Graflex f4.7. It has the kind of funny viewfinder attachment. I bought it at a local shop. I am getting stuff together to take it out and do some shooting, but I saw on the forum that these cameras sell for a good bit less than what I paid and I am wondering if there is some inherent design flaw that makes these cameras problematic. I guess what I am looking for is reassurance that I didn't get ripped off...or conversely the bitter truth on how badly I did. :p

thanks,
robert

PS. I bought the camera primarily to do portraits.

Cletus
24-Oct-2012, 07:34
I hate to ask, but I wonder how much you paid for it? Isn't the Omegaview 45E a monorail? I think this camera often sells used for a couple hundred. Maybe a bit more in pristine condition and depending on accessories included. Your 210 Sironar, if it's nice, should also fetch at least a couple hundred and maybe more. Not sure about the Graflex 135.

I'm sure there are many others here who can give you better guidance on current going rates for this camera.

Vaughn
24-Oct-2012, 07:43
The camera is fine. The price of 4x5 rail cameras have dropped due to more being on the market than for any other reason. If you had to miss a mortgage payment, your family had to miss a few meals, or if you now can't afford film in order to buy it, then you paid too much for it. Otherwise, just enjoy it!

It has been many years (30+) since I used one, but I do not remember any thing particularily wrong with the design. The 135mm might be a bit short for head-and-shoulder portraits, but it should be good for full-body, especially in tight spaces with two or more people. The 210 is a fine lens.

Preston
24-Oct-2012, 07:54