PDA

View Full Version : How to make a BW copy negative from 4x5 Velvia transparency

robert taylor
23-Oct-2012, 13:51
I have a 4x5 Velvia transparency (positive) I want to make a 4x5 black and white negative from so I can enlarge it to make a black and white print in the usual way in my darkroom. I need some guidance on this as I've never done it before, and will be "totally in the dark"--no pun intended of course--regarding what black and white films are best for this, how many steps are required, what techniques give the best result, etc. I have no idea, w/o blind random testing, what exposure times at what f stop would put me in the ballpark for this either. I am hoping one or more of you may actually have done this yourself and can guide me away from the pitfalls that otherwise await me. If you have done this and would be so kind as to help me with it, I will be greatly appreciative!

Robert

Charlie Strack
23-Oct-2012, 14:07
Enlarge it or contact print it directly onto B&W negative film. Using the enlarger can allow for some dodging, burning-in, and cropping.

Slow speed film is very useful, as it's very hard to accuractely time the short exposures. The exposure time is determined by trial and error. Since you only need to develop one sheet at a time, tray development is the easiest--your regular print developer can be used, though you might want to dilute it more than usual.

If accurate rendition of color to gray is important, use panchromatic film; if it is not critical, you can use orthochromatic film with a red safelight. Reds in the transparency will come out very dark. Ilford still makes Ortho Copy Plus (B&H shows it in stock).

Note that you can use your color filters in the enlarger (if you have a color head), to adjust color contrast--just like on-camera filters.