PDA

View Full Version : Packard shutters and exposure

IanG
15-Oct-2012, 12:36
Are Packard shutters designed to give increased exposure to the foreground ?

Ian

Tracy Storer
17-Oct-2012, 10:30
Any unevenness in exposure is, I'm sure, unintentional, and will vary depending whether the shutter were mounted behind or in front of the lens. I'm not an expert on possible problems with Packards, but have used them extensively without trouble for many years. Perhaps yours is not opening and closing as quickly and smoothly as it should?

E. von Hoegh
17-Oct-2012, 10:45
Since Packards are typically used for longish exposures, any unevenness of exposure due to the time it takes for the blades to open and close (which might be a factor if they worked at say 1/100 sec.) should be inconsequential.

premortho
17-Oct-2012, 15:40
Er, sort of. They were designed to hold back the sky, so that primitive ortho films could register some cloud detail. Several eary shutters could do this, not just Packard's

Ian

William Whitaker
17-Oct-2012, 16:09
Er, sort of. They were designed to hold back the sky, so that primitive ortho films could register some cloud detail.

How?

premortho
17-Oct-2012, 16:21
How? The third blade (top) opens last.

William Whitaker
17-Oct-2012, 16:31
How? The third blade (top) opens last.

Assuming the claim to be true, wouldn't that hold back the foreground, if anything?

Sorry, but I'm very skeptical. At the speeds Packards operate at, I can't imagine it really would make any difference one way or the other, as EvH noted above.

C. D. Keth
17-Oct-2012, 16:42
Assuming the claim to be true, wouldn't that hold back the foreground, if anything?

Sorry, but I'm very skeptical. At the speeds Packards operate at, I can't imagine it really would make any difference one way or the other, as EvH noted above.