PDA

View Full Version : Super Angulon 90mm f/8 - focal length/angle of view using only front element?

jameswangphoto
12-Oct-2012, 09:42
Hi, I'm new to the large format world... so I apologize if this is a silly question.

I am using a 4x5 Cambo with a Fotodiox Graflok to Nikon adapter back to shoot digital. The first lens I bought was a Schneider Super Angulon 90mm f/8, which I cannot get to focus at all. The DSLR sensor actually sits a few cm back from the film plane, so I'm guessing the 90mm is too wide for this setup?

Anyway, I just tried removing the rear element, and voila! now I can focus. Are there any drawbacks to using half the lens? Is there a loss of sharpness or increase in distortion? Also, I'm curious what the focal length becomes.

Thanks for any insight! I'm hooked on LF and excited to learn more.

James

E. von Hoegh
12-Oct-2012, 10:02
That lens is not convertible; when using the front element alone you will get distortion, abberations, an unknown focal length, and an unknown aperture.

Using a DSLR on a view camera is not large format, which doesn't mean people here won't be glad to help you.

Dan Fromm
12-Oct-2012, 10:30
I am using a 4x5 Cambo with a Fotodiox Graflok to Nikon adapter back to shoot digital. The first lens I bought was a Schneider Super Angulon 90mm f/8, which I cannot get to focus at all. The DSLR sensor actually sits a few cm back from the film plane, so I'm guessing the 90mm is too wide for this setup?
James

Hmm. 90/8 SA flange to film distance at infinity is 99 mm. Nikon SLR flange-to-film distance is 46.4 mm. Fotodiox adapter's rear of lens board to Nikon flange distance = ?. If you want to focus the lens to infinity, your Cambo's minimum flange-to- film distance can't be greater than 52.6 mm - the Fotodiox ?.

I b'lieve that there are boards with a 30 mm recess for 4x5 Cambos. One would help.