PDA

View Full Version : Advice on filters (for BW) and color film for fall colors?

timbo
11-Oct-2012, 19:06
Hi everyone,

I'm heading out to yosemite in a couple weekends and going to be getting some great fall colors. I'm relatively new to black and white photography and am looking for advice on contrast filters that would be best to highlight the fall colors. I was thinking that an orange filter would be great to bring out the trees and darken the sky, but I really have no actual experience as to whether or not that would work well, and I'm wondering if people think that would work or if there are other filters people recommend?

Also, I'm hoping to shoot some color film (4x5) which I've never done before (only BW). Seems that velvia 50 is highly recommended but hard to find these days, especially on short notice. Any other suggestions to highlight the fall colors and great scenery?

Thanks!!
Tim

Jody_S
11-Oct-2012, 19:13
I tried today with a green filter, the idea being to darken the leaves that have turned already. It also balances very nicely with the sky, where it has much the same effect as a orange filter. The film is hanging to dry now, but it looks pretty good.

Peter Gomena
11-Oct-2012, 19:54
If you use color film, remember that Yosemite is at a pretty good altitude. Bring some heavy warming filters along or risk capturing some very blue granite. As for b&w filters, the contrast there tends to be pretty extreme. I'd go light, #8 or #12 yellow. It also depends on how clear the skies, and how dark you want to make them, and how light you want to make fall foliage.

Peter Gomena

Brian Ellis
11-Oct-2012, 19:58