PDA

View Full Version : If I knew then what I know now....

Frank Petronio
7-Oct-2012, 12:25
I wouldn't have wasted so much time and money experimenting with so-called exotic speed and bokeh lenses, Prontor shutters, barrel mounts, etc. and just stuck with the "modern" normal Symmars and Sironars in ordinary black dial Copals of the 80s and 90s....

I would have stuck with a Sinar monorail for quality work and a Crown Graphic for handheld, down and dirty field work....

I would have shot more on 4x5 than smaller formats or 8x10....

I would have shot negatives instead of chromes....

Gotten more drum scans....

And most of all, I would have stopped the car and done the shot regardless.

What about you?

Mike Anderson
7-Oct-2012, 12:28
As a beginner I appreciate that advice.

Jeffrey Arthur
7-Oct-2012, 13:08
Wasn't experimenting with all the lenses and gear worth it? One of my favorite things you did was experimenting with the heliar lens.

BradS
7-Oct-2012, 13:43
well, we're not dead yet....:)

I'll play. If I could do it all over again, I'm not sure I'd change much. I do wish that I had not wasted so much time, money and energy trying so many different cameras (both 35mm and 4x5). I would steer well clear of 8x10 and stay with 4x5 and 35mm. It turns out that the three cameras I've bought new (yes, only three! of over 100) and taken care of have lasted the longest and would have been just fine (I really didn't need all those others).

And, yeah, I cannot even begin to count all of the times I've driven by a place and thought, I would come back and photograph there...and never did...so, I agree with the OP, stop and take the damned shot no - matter what. Life is short and you may not pas this way again...and even if you do, the light will be different, a forest fire will have passed through the area, the building will be torn down or, they'll have put up a stop light at that intersection....seize the moment.