PDA

View Full Version : Cokin Filters in LF???

Bill, 70's military B&W
29-Sep-2012, 16:06
I'm a Newbie trying to set things up. I have a lot of Cokin Filters and I'm wondering if many photographers use them with LF?
Do you have to have a step up filter for each lens? Or is there another way to mount them to the variety of lenses that LF uses?
What is the generally considered opinion of Cokin Filters? Are they considered a quality item?
Thanks,
Bill

vinny
29-Sep-2012, 16:51
I had a cokin P set up but not cokin filters. step up rings stay on all my lenses (up to 82mm) too cheap for me to trust. I had glass filters and singh-ray brand. quality? try them and see. I wouldn't use their grads at all.
Lee Filters makes nice holders, hoods, filters.

TheDeardorffGuy
29-Sep-2012, 16:54
Cokin are fine. They have been around years. I machined adapters that Cokin did not make.

lenser
29-Sep-2012, 18:06
I've got two sizes on things like red, yellow, 81A and Polarizers,. Adapter rings for each of my large format lenses work with the two sized mounts and make it simple to do what I wish.

My print sharpness is just fine at well above 16x20 prints including when I stack the Polarizer with either the 81A for warming transparencies or with either of the colored filters for ultimate sky/cloud contrast in black and white. I think they're terrific.

They even make adapters that mount with a three point padded thumb screw system for lenses without front threads.

Eric James
29-Sep-2012, 19:37
I used the Cokin P system of rings and holders for LF and found the quality to be adequate, but I ran into some vignetting problems with some lenses and step-up rings. The outer slot of the Cokin holder can be cut off with a hacksaw but you may still run into problems with vignetting. I've never used Cokin grads or ND filters because they are widely reported to have a color cast. Aside from my investment in Colin P sized Singh Ray grads, I'm glad that I switched to the Lee System.

jp