PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question (how to use the 4x5 camera without accidentally moving it)

aruns
28-Sep-2012, 00:05
Hello,
I am a LF newbie. I have been a forum lurker for a few months, and been reading up on LF for a while now.
I have a Shen Hao HZX 4x5 iia, a Caltar 150mm IIn 5.6, and a Manfrotto 055 XPROB with 486 RC (older version) head. I use 4x5 film holders by sliding them under the GG. I have been trying to use the camera and learn, I have a couple questions and appreciate your responses:

1. Front standard firmness / secure locking:
a. When I use the front right and left (low) knobs to secure the focus point, the standard moves as I tighten the left knob and the image is out of focus. Is there a specific way to focus so as to avoid the extraneous movements and resulting lack of focus.
b. After focusing by adjusting the front standard, I secure it in its place. However, even a soft tap on the standard feels like the standard shakes a lot. How can I avoid it.

2. Overall camera stability:
a. After meticulously focusing on an image, are there any tricks to insert a 4x5 film holder under the ground glass without disturbing the camera from it's position.
b. Are there any tricks or methods to ensure the camera stays well focused, while and after inserting the 4x5 film holder.

Thanks,
Arun.

Doremus Scudder
28-Sep-2012, 02:12
Hello,
I am a LF newbie. I have been a forum lurker for a few months, and been reading up on LF for a while now.
I have a Shen Hao HZX 4x5 iia, a Caltar 150mm IIn 5.6, and a Manfrotto 055 XPROB with 486 RC (older version) head. I use 4x5 film holders by sliding them under the GG. I have been trying to use the camera and learn, I have a couple questions and appreciate your responses:

1. Front standard firmness / secure locking: