PDA

View Full Version : Macbeth TD 929 HELP!

Bill, 70's military B&W
14-Sep-2012, 19:22
I just acquired a Macbeth TD 929, it came with nothing but the power cord. It seems to work, but I do not know anything about it. Do I need a specific negative to calibrate it?
I picked it up for almost nothing only because I read about folks using them to evaluate their negatives. I'm a Newbie and hope to use this machine to help me with some tests as I set up my darkroom and get started.
Any help would be appreciated.
Bill

C. D. Keth
14-Sep-2012, 20:26
Here's a manual (http://webpages.charter.net/craigclu/900series.pdf). That should get you started.

Bill, 70's military B&W
15-Sep-2012, 06:00
Chris, thanks for the manual, I read it front to back. It says that I must have a "instrument calibration reference", then at the end of the manual it lists parts, but does not offer the instrument calibration reference as being for sale.
I assume (yes assume) that without something to calibrate the unit it is worthless. Any suggestions? I know I can call the company, and I will next week.
How will having this machine help me in the pursuit of the perfect negative. I've never seen one in operation.
I know that in a lot of the books they talk about doing test strips until you do not see a difference in the blacks, then you have found the minimum time to reach maximum black.
Would the TD 929 help there?
Where else would it help me?
Bill

ic-racer
15-Sep-2012, 06:35
In terms of transmission density calibration, you can get a calibrated step wedge from Stouffer. Once you get the wedge you can use a step around 2.5 log d as the target for the calibration procedure. The wedge should come with a sheet indicating the exact value.

Kevin J. Kolosky
15-Sep-2012, 08:32