PDA

View Full Version : Voigtlander Collinear Series ll no. 6 f 6.3 focus 12 1/4 inch,

Bill, 70's military B&W
14-Sep-2012, 18:45
Voigtlander Collinear Series ll no. 6 f 6.3 focus 12 1/4 inch,
I just acquired this lens in an old Acme shutter, I can not find out much about it. The glass looks to be in good condition, the shutter is most likely not repairable. I'm a Newbie and have a couple of questions:
Is this lens a quality item? Will it cover 4x5, 5x7 or 8x10? Is it worth putting it in a new shutter? Approx what would a shutter cost for this lens?
Does this lens have any special qualities, good for this or especially good for that?
Thanks,
Bill

Steven Tribe
15-Sep-2012, 04:10
Is this lens a quality item?

Yes,

Will it cover 4x5, 5x7 or 8x10?

The catalogue (31cm) says it was made for 24x30cm. So about 10x12".

Is it worth putting it in a new shutter?

Probably not. There may be a compound shutter which fits. Otherwise Copal sinar shutter.

This is the Voigtländer design which came just after the Heliar. The smaller ones are F5.4. Originally, they were slightly cheaper than the Heliar but have better coverage (85%) for focal lengths.

Bill, 70's military B&W
15-Sep-2012, 14:18
Steve, Thanks for your info. It's good to know that it will cover 8x10. You said it is a quality lens, does it have any special qualities, portraits, soft focus...etc? Does it have any value? It is sitting in an old broken shutter and I can not even get the Iris to open. The glass looks good.

About how much does a shutter cost? I'm talking about being practical, having a used one mounted. I have no idea at all.
Sounds expensive, but it never hurts to ask.
Again thanks for all the help,
Bill

Dan Fromm
15-Sep-2012, 16:39
The Collinear is not the same design as the Dagor, but is supposed to behave similarly.