PDA

View Full Version : Next Developer To Try?

Mark Stahlke
14-Sep-2012, 09:02
I've been processing my own black & white film for a couple of years. I'm shooting Ilford films - mostly Delta 100 and HP5+. I develop them in Ilford DD-X. I'm very comfortable with my procedures and I get consistent and satisfactory results. Now my curiosity is getting the better of me and I'd like to explore other developers. I'd like to know what more experienced darkroom workers suggest for the next developer to try.

Please keep in mind I don't have a proper darkroom. I develop 4x5 in a Combiplan-T in the kitchen and 8x10 in trays in the bathroom. There are kids and pets in the house so toxicity, storage, and disposal of spent developer are important considerations.

In case it matters, I do scanning and digital printing.

Thanks for you input.

bob carnie
14-Sep-2012, 09:06
Rodinal would be a good choice for a different look.

I've been processing my own black & white film for a couple of years. I'm shooting Ilford films - mostly Delta 100 and HP5+. I develop them in Ilford DD-X. I'm very comfortable with my procedures and I get consistent and satisfactory results. Now my curiosity is getting the better of me and I'd like to explore other developers. I'd like to know what more experienced darkroom workers suggest for the next developer to try.

Please keep in mind I don't have a proper darkroom. I develop 4x5 in a Combiplan-T in the kitchen and 8x10 in trays in the bathroom. There are kids and pets in the house so toxicity, storage, and disposal of spent developer are important considerations.

In case it matters, I do scanning and digital printing.

Thanks for you input.

Gem Singer
14-Sep-2012, 09:38
Went through the same decision making process a few years ago.

I scan my negatives and print digitally.

HP-5+ developed in DD-X had a tendency to blow out the highlights.

Changed to Pyrocat-HD (in glycol). No more blown out highlights.