PDA

View Full Version : McAllister radial drive petzval

cyberjunkie
9-Sep-2012, 07:08
I love petzvals, both as collector's items and as photographic tools.
I have always considered the radial drive as the most elegant solution, compared to the common tangential rack and pinion.
I badly wanted one... and now it's on its way to my home :)

The lens is engraved McAllister NY.
I am attaching a few pictures from the auction.
The vendor wrote that McAllister was one of the american vendors of Darlot lenses, therefore suggesting that this lens was made by Darlot, in Paris.
I am very dubious about that.
I am not an expert, in particular i'm quite ignorant about 19th century lenses, but i have never seen a french made radial drive petzval.
I always thought that the radial drive was definitely an american feature.
Then i did a quick Google search and found a reference to a radial drive E. Francais lens (the name says it all..not a USA brand!), and possibly also Jamin/Darlot ones.
Am i missing something?
Any clue about the maker of my lens?

CCHarrison
9-Sep-2012, 08:52
McAllister was a long running family making and selling optics but especially known for magic lanterns... see 1885 ad below

McAllister moved to NY in 1865 (from Philly), so we know the lens is no earlier than that. Definitely a ML lens.

Dan

cyberjunkie
9-Sep-2012, 11:20
Thanks Dan.
You have a wealth of documentation about 19th century USA lenses!
So McAllister was also a maker, not just a reseller.
You seem to suggest that the lens could have been made in-house, and not purchased from another maker (european or american).
Definitely it's magic lantern lens. No waterhouse slot and no sunshade.
Not a big problem, but i am afraid that the focal length could be too short for 5x7"/13x18cm.
In my limited experience the older projection petzvals have rather short focals, even some big ones. Long, slow ones were more common in the first half of the 20th century.
Am i right about that?