PDA

View Full Version : Help - Lens Collection Found in Basement

byronfry
5-Sep-2012, 07:12
I recently inherited a large collection of photography equipment that was being cleaned out of a basement. The owner left the country 10 years ago and never came back. I'm a photography student in art school and I have some experience with large format cameras, so I'll be trying all the lenses, but I'm a little overwhelmed by all the information I'm finding on them and I'm hoping that some friendly LFF'ers will point out any lenses of particular interest.

All the lenses are fairly clean with the exception of the Voigtlander Ultron which is thick with dust and cleaning marks and the Dallmeyer Soft Focus which looks to have some fungus. The Thornton Pickard shutter works smoothly.

Thanks for any information!

byronfry
5-Sep-2012, 07:13

byronfry
5-Sep-2012, 07:14

byronfry
5-Sep-2012, 07:14

byronfry
5-Sep-2012, 07:15

Jody_S
5-Sep-2012, 07:37
Pity about the Meyer soft focus, I believe it's the most valuable lens of the lot. 2nd would be the Aero-Ektar/Speed Graphic combo, they're hot right now. I would start shooting with the 8x10 and the 30cm Dagor if I were you, it's a nice, manageable combination. Of course the Speed/Aero would be more fun.

Frank Petronio
5-Sep-2012, 07:40
Not bad considering how moist a BC basement must be. Wonder what that little wooden body and lens are?

BrianShaw
5-Sep-2012, 07:48
Frank... Photo 3 (I assume you are asking about) is a Thornton-Pickard roller blind shutter with lens. It belongs on the old plate camera (Sanderson, I believe) in my closet that does not have shutter and lens. ;) The lens is probably a relatively "normal" Rapid Rectilinear of that era.

Steven Tribe
5-Sep-2012, 07:58
What is in the large slim greenish canvas square bag at the rear in photo 1 post#2?

byronfry
5-Sep-2012, 08:07
Steven, the bag is a Pioneer Trapper Nelson fitted with padding for the 8x10 camera. It's a beast, but very handy.

Corran
5-Sep-2012, 08:24