PDA

View Full Version : new member old korona camera

drdrew
30-Aug-2012, 08:06
hello all, i was directed to this forum by a friend who reports it as a great resource. first of all i am a newb in every sense, both to the forum and to LF photography (though not to photography in general). at any rate i suppose i will likely be blasted for my newbish ways so i openly admit i know next to nothing about all of this LF stuff, but hope to be fully functional at some point. now what has happened is probably cliche as well. i won an old Korona Series V 4x5 camera on ebay. i just fell in love with the photos of it. it has arrived and is in fact in amazing condition for its age. the metal is shiny, the wood is gorgeous, the bellows are intact. it came with 3 film holders and a light meter. it has a convertible lens with attachments. movelments appear to be in order, though a little sticky.

here she is:

http://i49.tinypic.com/birlsp.jpg

my issue is the back of this camera. i cannot for the life of me figure out how it is supposed to stay on or how to load the film, etc. the back has the GG intact. but no real means of keeping it hooked on to the body of the camera. there are two latches that lift only very slightly and then touch a kind of pin. but this seems to not really do anything. further more there seems to maybe be another section that might be moveable or removeable, and there is a finger screw to one side that seems to loosen this piece, thogh not disengage it. there are two small flathead side screws attached to some internal plate where it seems to be affixed. here are some photos to try and clear up confusion because likely my explanation is newbish and ridiculous anyway...

here is the back from the inside showing the GG. there is no seeming way to attach this part to the main body
http://i49.tinypic.com/1zvy0c0.jpg