PDA

View Full Version : Adapting lenses from a Calumet 400 and a Sinar F2????

stradibarrius
28-Jul-2012, 08:06
I hae a Sinar F2 and a Calumet c400. The Sinar has 6" lensboards and the C400 has 4" boards.
Does anyone know if there is an adapter so I can use my lens on both cameras with out having to change boards?

David A. Goldfarb
28-Jul-2012, 08:22
Most likely, you would have to make such an adapter out of a Sinar lensboard (which is more like 5-1/4" square with rounded corners and a light trap).

Joseph Dickerson
28-Jul-2012, 08:34
Not that hard to do, but if you prefer to not diy try S.K. Grimes. They could make one for you.

JD

rfesk
28-Jul-2012, 08:34
I have made one myself. But i don't believe I have it anymore. It isn't particularly difficult.

stradibarrius
28-Jul-2012, 09:23
I work with wood for a living so I could easily produce a wooden version.
Would I make a board that fits the small camera and then make a way to attach those lensboards to a sinar board?
As far as having an effect on the focal length, would it mainly effect the short focal length lens...

Dan Fromm
28-Jul-2012, 09:28
Grrr! No effect on focal length. There are very few varifocal or zoom lenses for LF. The adapter will add a little extension, may (great stress may) make focusing some short lens or other to infinity impossible.

stradibarrius
28-Jul-2012, 11:57
Well, then it may (great stress may) have an effect on focal length. It will extend to lens forward and may make focusing to infinity on a short F/L length lens problematic. I'm not sure what you mean about zoom lenses.

E. von Hoegh
28-Jul-2012, 12:26
The lensbord cannot change the focal length of a lens.

David A. Goldfarb
28-Jul-2012, 13:14
The focal length is a property of the lens--the distance from the rear node to the image plane when focused at infinity--that doesn't have anything to do with the way it is mounted.