PDA

View Full Version : Graduated Filters...

Pfiltz
23-Jul-2012, 05:45
I'm going to the Pacific NW in September, and attempting landscapes.

I bought a Graflex Graphic View 4x5 large-format camera outfit w/ 152mm Kodak Ektar lens.

http://www.electricedge.com/greymatter/images6/graphic-view.jpg

Can I just place the filter up against the lens, and get decent results, or are there adapters I can use?

If I were shooting with my Digi, I could figure this out, but I'm new to 4x5.

vinny
23-Jul-2012, 06:13
yes.
I should add, that accurate filter placement by "just holding it" will be impossible. With the current costs of film/developing and my time, that's not worth it. I use a lee hood with two filter slots since I can't hold something still without bumping the lens/fighting off bugs for several minute exposures.

Greg Miller
23-Jul-2012, 07:56
Can I just place the filter up against the lens...?.

That's what I do.

mandoman7
23-Jul-2012, 09:38
You can tape it to the inside element too, if you're looking for easy solutions.

cyrus
23-Jul-2012, 09:47
As long as you can hold it in place whilst composing/shooting then it should be fine. I use grad orange filters to make skies more dramatic and need to hold the filters in place, in order to match the orange to the skyline as much as possible. Just make sure there's no vignetting.

dsphotog
23-Jul-2012, 10:02
Depends on the desired effect, If you are using gradated filters, one technique is to keep the filter moving slightly during a long exposure to blend the edge of the grad.
If the composition needs a hard edge, then a holder simplifies camera opperation.

If I'm using regular filters I freqently just hold them in front.

biedron
23-Jul-2012, 10:09
The most adaptable solution is probably the Lee holder https://www.badgergraphic.com/store/cart.php?m=product_detail&p=1168 with an adapter ring to fit your particular lens https://www.badgergraphic.com/store/cart.php?m=product_detail&p=1165

Bob

dsphotog
23-Jul-2012, 11:58