PDA

View Full Version : need ANY info on orbit monorail

Lena
13-Feb-2004, 20:20
hello,

i have just received orbit monorail view camera as a prize in a photo exhibit and have no idea what to do with it. my school offers a studio class where they teach how to use LF equipment but now that i have this camera on my hands, i don't want to wait till next semester to use it. i have tried looking on the internet for any info on this camera and seem to have no luck. i know nothing about LF equipment, i am an intermediate photo student and have only gotten to MF. i would appreciate ANY kind of information anyone could give me on this, even if it is just a reference to a piece of literature or a website. thank you very much!

Ernest Purdum
13-Feb-2004, 20:45
"Orbit" is a tradename used by the former Burke & James Co. of Chicago. Orbit cameras were based on an earlier Kodak design and used Kodak tooling in their manufacture. The 4" X 5" Orbit was nearly identical to cameras sold by Calumet under that name, their 5" X 7" Orbits used many of the same parts but had a wooden back to take the larger film. Both models have all the movements needed for perspective control and control of the plane of sharp focus. They have been popular for teaching large format photography since their introduction.

Fortunately, there are several very informative books on view camera work which should answer most of your questions. You might look for:

Stroebel, "View Camera Technique"

Simmons, "Using the View Camera"

Stone "A User's Guide to the View Camera"

Shaman "The View Camera"

One of the authors, Steve Simmons, is a frequent contributor to this forum.

John D Gerndt
13-Feb-2004, 22:08
Try this site for on line infomation: www.largeformatphotography.info It was happily the first site I came across and led me to much needed information. This forum is good but based more for experienced users talking equipment and technique.

Cheers and welcome to the world of large!

Jon Shiu