PDA

View Full Version : Schneider symmar or symmar S

mylek
15-Jul-2012, 12:36
Hello,

i'm new to LF and i'm looking for 210mm to use on a 4x5 and 5x7. Is there a big difference between a symmar lens and the symmar S apart from the wider diameter and multi coating? I saw both of them for the same price.
Which shutter will be better?
Will i be better to invest in a 240mm since i'll be doing mainly portraits and still life in B&W.

Regards!

Ed Bray
15-Jul-2012, 12:50
The Symmar is a convertible the Symmar-S is not.

Schneider themselves and I believe general consensus on the internet by those that know say the Symmar-S is a sharper lens, but for portraiture that may be not what you want.

The big difference between a 210mm and a 240mm is the size, the 210mm is still in a Copal/Compur 1 shutter, the 240mm is in a Copal/Compur 3 shutter and considerably heavier and larger.

What you need to decide is what sort of portraiture you want to do and then tailor your purchase to suit.

Whereabouts in the world are you?

Sevo
15-Jul-2012, 13:30
The Symmar is a convertible the Symmar-S is not.

Well, the Symmar was marketed as convertible, while the Symmar-S was not. The latter does form a sharp image at roughly double focal length just like the former, so it is technically just as convertible. Whether the quality of either in converted state is up to the standards Schneider targeted by the time they switched to the Symmar-S is another question - LF in general had already grown into a huge print and high quality speciality format by that time, hardly comparable to the mainstream of contact prints back when the plain Symmar was conceived.

In unconverted state, both the Symmar and Symmar-S are fairly equivalent, and good lenses - the Symmar-S MC is doubtlessly a bit better (at least as long as sharp and detailed are within the scope of your definition of good).

Jay DeFehr
15-Jul-2012, 14:26
Hello mylek,