PDA

View Full Version : used linhof Master Technika VS Toyo top end 4x5

Jon Paul
11-Feb-2004, 16:49
I would like input before I purchase a new camera. i am wondering if I should go with a used Linhof Master Technika or a new Toyo top end 4x5. Obviously the money is an issue. I am a landscape photographer and would like a bit more flexibility in lens choice than my Super Speed Graphic offers. I also need a reliable field camera.

Thanks,

Jon

Michael Kadillak
11-Feb-2004, 17:20
I went through this iteration several years ago and included several other 4x5 camera makers in my comparison of these to the Linhof Master. And then I had the opportunity to actually get out and shoot with the Master and that sealed the deal. For me I conluded that the Master Technika would have to have been really beat up and abused (with no other used alternatives available) before I would opt for any number of lesser priced new in the box alternatives including Toyo. And that is nothing against a Toyo as they are clearly very well made functional cameras that make many marvelous images all over the world. But they are simply not a Linhof. Lay out the specifications side by side and compare bellows, rise/fall, back movements and accessories available and you will see what I mean. The precision in the focus, fit, function and lock down is an absolute marvel. There is a clear reason that these cameras have maintained their basic design from the first ones that were built in 1903. They just work and they are the epitome of reliability. Yes, they are inherently expensive but that is a relative concept when you consider the tooling and the man hours necessary to build these cameras. Just my $0.02.

Good Luck!

David A. Goldfarb
11-Feb-2004, 17:25